RSS Feed

Racing towards the finish…

As I write this, I’m 3 1/2 chapters from finishing the first draft of The Polaris Uprising. What a journey it’s been so far –exhilarating, terrifying, gratifying, and all around amazing. I passed the 100K word mark earlier this week, and that milestone was nothing short of astounding to me.

In school, I was the kid who played around with margins and font sizes and spacing just to hit the minimum word count for my essays. I struggled with putting enough words down, and when I first set out to write a fantasy novel many years ago, I balked at the 100K word requirement and decided maybe I wasn’t ready to write genre fiction just yet.

When all is said and done, this first draft will probably weigh in at around 115K words. The finished manuscript will no doubt need to be trimmed a lot, of course, so it probably will be closer to 100K-105K, but it’s still hard for me to wrap my mind around the fact that I’ve written this much. And there’s still more coming.

And I’m about to finish.

And so… to celebrate this, I’m going to share one more excerpt. I’m hoping it doesn’t give too much away, but it is meant to pique your interest :). Tell me what you think!

“So you won’t help me.”

Gates was quiet for a long time. She issued no denial, but offered no confirmation, either. Finally, she turned back to Ryla.

“You want my help?” she said. “Here’s how I’ll help: I’m going to give you some advice, and if I were you, I’d listen very carefully. Go back. Go back to your comfortable life, where you’re safe and you’re oblivious and you can pretend you never got involved with us. Too many things have already been set into motion, and this is bigger than any rescue mission you could possibly stage.”

“You mean there’s a war coming. A genuine uprising.”

Gates didn’t look at her this time. But Ryla knew the answer was yes.

Polaris

Coming soon…

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

Leave a Reply

